Gov. Emmanuel Sends 19 Commissioner Nominees To HoA For Screening

The list of 19 Commissioner nominees and two Special Advisers was sent from Gov. Udom Emmanuel on Tuesday and received by the Akwa Ibom House of Assembly for screening and confirmation.

The list was read at plenary by the Clerk of the Assembly, Mrs Mandu Umoren.

Mr Udo Kierian, the Leader of the House, notified the house of the list in a motion, which was seconded by the Deputy Leader, Mr Aniefiok Akpan, PDP representing Etinan State constituency.

The list of the commissioner nominees include:

  • Akan Okon
  • Ime Ekpo
  • Nse Essien
  • Uwemedimo Nwoko
  • Monday Uko
  • Linus Nkan
  • Okpolupm Etteh
  • Ephraim Inyaneyen
  • Ekong Sampson
  • Charles Udoh
  • Orman Esin
  • Dr Iniobong Essien.
  • Others are:
  • Dr Dominic Ukpong
  • Dr Glory Edet
  • Messrs Udo Ekpenyong
  • Uno Etim Uno
  • Rapheal Bassey
  • Victor Bassey
  • Ukpong Akpabio

Mr Sunny Ibuot and Mrs Ekemini Umoh were nominated as special advisers.

The Speaker, Mr Aniekan Bassey, referred the list to the Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Public Petitions.

The House directed the committee to report back in seven days.

Also, at plenary, the House inaugurated 26 standing committees for effective parliamentary proceedings.

The committees include, Information, which has Mr Aniefiok Akpan as Chairman; Judiciary, Human Rights and Public Petitions with Mr Victor Ekwere as Chairman; and Education with Mr Godwin Ekpo, as Chairman among others.

These were realized before the House adjourned plenary to July 4.

WhatsApp chat